One moment almost halted the fight this past weekend at UFC on FOX 12, and brought with it some controversy.

During the third round of the main event, Robbie Lawler appeared to land a body kick that hurt Matt Brown. However, referee John McCarthy declared the shot a low-blow and put a pause in the action.

Several replays were shown after, and UFC commentator Joe Rogan stated he thought the shot was legal and the referee had made a mistake. UFC president Dana White also said much the same during his post-fight interview on FOX Sports 1.

McCarthy, a long-time ref, came to his own defense on Twitter, stating, "For information, the kick thrown by Robbie was legal, his shin moved Matt Brown's cup, you could hear it, that's why Matt was given a moment."

Brown, who lost via decision to Lawler, also defended his own actions via his Facebook page after the fight:

Tags: , , ,

© 2015 Fighters.com. All Rights Reserved | This site is hosted on a VPS from Miss Hosting

Web Version | Mobile Version