Carlos Condit earns interim championship with decision win over Nick Diaz

In the iconic words of Bruce Buffer, “It’s tiiiiiiime!”

UFC 143 finally rolled around and with it came as fine a main event as could be asked for, as polished pugilists Carlos Condit and Nick Diaz duked it out for the interim welterweight title and a chance to fight linear champion Georges St. Pierre later this year. Both men entered the bout on impressive winning streaks and have a propensity for putting opponents away rather than seeing things go to the judges’ scorecards. However, when the smoke cleared it was Condit who emerged with his hands raised without a submission or TKO in tow.

After things were said and done, Diaz wasn’t happy with the outcome and expressed such by prematurely retiring from MMA, saying he didn’t want to play a game where pushing a guy backwards the entire time resulted in a loss.

The card also featured Scott Jorgensen falling to Renan Barao in what may have earned the Brazilian a title-shot, Josh Koscheck barely beating Mike Pierce via controversial Split Decision, and Fabricio Werdum putting on a great show with Roy Nelson, going fifteen minutes with his Muay Thai edging out Nelson’s heart and determination.

Check out the Countdown to UFC 143 Special

Find a complete rundown of UFC 143: Diaz vs. Condit results below:

Stephen Thompson def. Daniel Stittgen via Knockout Round 1 (Head Kick)
Rafael Natal def. Michael Kuiper via Unanimous Decision
Matt Riddle def. Henry Martinez via Split Decision
Matt Brown def. Chris Cope via TKO Round 2 (Strikes)
Edwin Figueroa def. Alex Cacaeres via Split Decision
Dustin Poirier def. Max Holloway via Submission Round 1 (Mounted Armbar-Triangle Choke)
Ed Herman def. Clifford Starks via Submission Round 2 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Renan Barao def. Scott Jorgensen via Unanimous Decision
Josh Koscheck def. Mike Pierce via Split Decision
Fabricio Werdum def. Roy Nelson via Unanimous Decision
Carlos Condit def. Nick Diaz via Unanimous Decision